Facebook has launched a new feature call ‘Snooze’ which is aiming to deliver users a better newsfeed experience. TechCrunch earlier spotted Facebook to test Facebook Snooze back in September but this time Facebook made it official. The Snooze button basically helps users to temporarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days. Once users select Snooze, they’ll not see content from those a person or Pages or group in their News Feed for 30 days. People can reverse snooze at any time. The feature aims to give users better control over their newsfeed and notifications alerts.
Shruthi Muraleedharan, Product Manager at Facebook in a company blog post said:
“One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control. Over the next week, we’re launching Snooze, which will give you the option to temporarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days.”
For now, the Facebook Snooze feature only works for 30 days but we hope Facebook will increase that in future. According to TechCrunch’s report from September, the option came with 24 hours and 7 days as additional snooze time options.
Facebook Snooze does not unfollow or unfriend permanently, instead, users will stop seeing someone’s posts for a month. Most importantly, Facebook will not notify people, Groups, Pages that a user chooses to snooze. People will get a notification before the Snooze period is about to end.
Explaining the productivity of this new feature Shruthi Muraleedharan also added:
“Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone. We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it.”
How to Use Facebook Snooze Button?
Step 1: Firstly, select that specific user’s post and click on the top-right drop-down menu of that post.